Holy Grail Skincare

This has been a transformative year for my skin. And you lucky ducks get to hear all my secrets. First, a little bit of background. I never had super bad acne but I just always had a few spots, some discoloration and anywhere that there was a pimple, a scar was left behind. On top of that, I have incredibly sensitive skin so a lot of skincare products would make my acne worse.

Cleanse

When I was in Greece over the summer, a wonderful little salesman at the market told me I just HAD to try his donkey milk bar soap. He said “You buy this today and tomorrow you come back and buy another one” (because I would love it so much). He also promised it would clear up any acne that I had. So I succumbed to the pressure and bought it. That was the best £4 I’ve ever spent. The soap is light and not drying and cleans my skin without being abrasive. People always turn their noses up when I tell them that I wash my face with donkey milk soap but this is the closest thing to a miracle product that I’ve ever found. Also rumor has it that Cleopatra loved taking donkey milk baths so maybe I’ll turn into some gorgeous Egyptian queen now.

P.S. I only wash my face at night once I have taken all of my makeup off using Simple Makeup Wipes. More than this messes up the skin’s natural balance.

Moisturize

Even with acne or access oil, it is important to keep your skin moisturized or it may begin to produce even more oil to make up for it. After washing my face at night, I use Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Moisturizer. After showering in the morning or before putting on my makeup, I use normal Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture for Sensitive Skin. I find this combination keeps my skin moisturized without being oily or having acne. I’m not sure if there is any scientific fact to it but I only ever moisturize in an upward motion. Someone told me once that if you rub down then it will clog your pores.

Exfoliate

I’m not big on exfoliating as I don’t want to mess with my skin’s natural balance. I do however use a Clarisonic or exfoliating face mask about once a week to prevent the buildup of dead skin. (that sounds so glamorous doesn’t it haha) Lush’s Mask of Magnanimity is my favorite because it is exfoliating without being harsh or abrasive. The only issue is that I can never pronounce the name of it.

Diet

I’m a firm believer that diet affects everything. I’ve recently eliminated oil from my diet. I don’t even use olive oil or coconut oil to cook with. Every time I do have some kind of fried food, chips or another snack high in oil, I notice it in my skin. It is important to keep your face clean as well as your diet.

 

What are your holy grail skincare products? I’d love to hear some suggestions of products to try out! Comment down below

5 thoughts on “Holy Grail Skincare

  1. I tried two different soaps for my face. About a year ago my skin became acne prone so a cousin of mine from Romania recommended sulfur soap. Didn’t smell great when I used it , but it reduced my acne almost to nothing. The second soap I got recently, is Black African soap. This does not reduce my acne however I don’t have oily skin during the day anymore which is a big help. When i would feel the oil on my skin I would already start touching my face and my acne would get worse.
    Still battling with acne but I am almost at the end of the battle…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

