I’m 20 Years Old And Still Get Homesick

I’m 20 years old and still get homesick all the time. Today marked the end of winter break and the harsh reality of real life. I literally hate going back to school so much. I dread it. When I’m here and in a routine I feel fine, it’s getting that routine started again that’s hard. I love my friends here and being around my family too much causes arguments (we put the fun in dysfunctional). Anyways, I always have to adjust back to life at college and it’s never a fun nor tearless adjustment. Wow this is like a way emotional post, so sorry about that but as I said in the beginning of my blogging, this is my public diary so basically you signed up to read this. Lolol. Ok, back to what I was saying (I’m pretty sure I’m adhd or something because I can never stay on task and my attention span is 3 seconds. Like I seriously need to get it together). Anyways, I was already homesick before I even left home. How lame. I even cried saying goodbye to our puppy even though I’ll see her in like a month. Maybe it’s just because I have such a great and fun family who I love. There is always something going on and lots of people to talk to back home but then when I’m at college I come home to one roommate and a cat. It’s just not the same. I mean obviously it’s not going to be the same. Also our apartment is always 5 fucking degrees and it pisses me off. So here I am huddled next to the heater, writing. And I haven’t even looked at if I have any assignments due this week. I’m a mess. I’m pretty much always a little bit of a mess but I think I am especially right now. Hi I’m Raina and I’m a mess.      I did go to a friends house and watch the bachelor which basically means us gossiping and then every now and then saying something to the effect of “wow what a slut” or “that bitch is so annoying” good times. Good times. 

     Stay tuned for more random night thoughts with Raina. Okie bye. 

P.S. Have any of you experienced things like this or am I just being a baby? 

8 thoughts on “I’m 20 Years Old And Still Get Homesick

  1. I’m twenty and in my third year of university and I’ve been home sick ever since I came here to uni. It’s so easy to miss being surrounded by family all day even when you have great friends around you. I just miss it. It’s a horrible feeling , I always feel like I’m missing out even when I know everyone at home is just working or going to school!
    Your not the only one I’m sure some of your friends might feel the same! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am 20 years old as well and I totally understand the homesick feeling you are having. Sometimes I wonder how many other people feel homesick because at college it always seems like everyone is so happy here and I can’t understsand why I always miss home.
    This post was super relatable, thank you for sharing your thoughts, it made my night.
    ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment. the more people I talk to, the more I realize how normal this feeling is. I mean, that doesn’t make it easier or make me less homesick but it’s reassuring to know that this is a normal part of growing up. Good luck to you

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

