Weekly Globetrotter: Whistler, Canana

Before I even begin, let’s take a moment to appreciate and acknowledge my consistency. Two weeks in a row of globetrotter and I’m feeling myself. Anyways, this week we are going to Whistler, British Columbia, Canada. It’s one of my favoritist places to visit and it’s right in my backyard. Well not in my backyard but a ten hour car drive away. That’s not the point. The point is that you don’t have to buy a million dollar plane ticket to see a beautiful new world. Wow that was sappy. But I kid you not, whistler has to be one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. As I was looking through these pictures I was sad that I’m not there right now. Ugh love it so much. So basically every summer throughout my childhood included a trip to Whistler so there’s a small, very minute, chance that I love it so much because of the nostalgia. But probably not. You’ll probably like it too. 

      Highly highly recommend doing the peak to peak gondola. It’s exactly how it sounds. You take a gondola up to Whistler mountain and you can play around. We did some rock climbing and general frolicking around. Then you take another gondola to Blackcomb. This ride holds some records for the longest suspended gondola or some shit like that. Idk. But the views 10/10. Gorgeous. And then you get out and frolick some more. So we went on a little hike, that again included great views. Moral of the post, whistler is really pretty. That’s it. That’s all. Just go. 

    We also tried to find the remnants of a train wreck that are still in the forests near Function Junction. The pictures online looked really cool and grungy and my mom was so excited. Kind of a weird thing to be excited about but I’m not gonna question her. We ended up getting really lost and decided to cut our losses and turn back before we found ourselves unable to navigate the forest. So if you go and do end up finding them, please send me a picture or tag me so I can live vicariously through you. Thanks. 

       Probably my favorite “adventure” was kanoeing on Alta Lake. I think I popped out a rib because I’m a fragile soul but I was worth it. No ragrats. I hate myself. 

      Also you’ll love Whistler if you love the Olympics as much as I do. My dad and I played around at the biathlon location and practiced shooting like the athletes do and I have to say, I fucking owned that bitch. Not my dad the bitch but the targets the bitch. What can I say, I like shooting and I’m not bad at it. I’ll just give myself a little pat on the back rn. 

     I’m sure I have a ton more to say about Whistler but you probably won’t want to read that much. I understand. So I’ll leave you there. Check back next week for another guide that will change your life. Okie bye. 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Globetrotter: Whistler, Canana

Leave a Reply

